The School Library Association of Queensland (SLAQ) is the peak association providing opportunities for members to collaborate and support the vision of their school communities in developing students as lifelong learners.

The association is committed to dispelling misconceptions surrounding the work of teacher-librarians. Teacher-librarians’ work is far beyond just books and has a vital role within Queensland schools.

Winners of the 2013 SLAQ Awards Announced

The winners of this year's SLAQ awards have been announced. Congratulations to the following:

Principal/School Leader of the Year

Winner – Alan Jones, Marsden SHS
Highly Commended – Jane Sleeman, QLD Academy for Health Sciences
Highly Commended – Jamie Dorrington, Saint Stephen’s College

Teacher-Librarian of the Year

Winner – Elizabeth Jorgensen, Hambledon State School
Highly Commended – Shirley Birrell, Marsden SHS

For more information, view the awards page.

This year's winners at the awards ceremony (left to right): Shirley Birrell, Jane Sleeman, Elizabeth Jorgensen, Toni Leigh (SLAQ President), Kristine Cooke (from the Awards Committee), Alan Jones, Jamie Dorrington.